The Niels Bohr Library & Archives is a non-circulating special collections research library and archives. This means that while our collections are open to use by the general public, all materials must remain onsite and consulted in our reading room. We do not participate in Interlibrary Loan Lending (ILL), however we are willing to scan items in our collection (within reason and copyright law) or provide virtual reading room appointments to facilitate access for users unable to visit our library in person.
For booking in-person or virtual appointments and our reading room rules and hours, please see this link: https://aip.libcal.com/
To request items to use at our library or have scanned, please use our Item Request Form for archival and special collections materials (including oral histories). Note: Items with an Item Type of ICOS not-NBL are not physically located at AIP Niels Bohr Library & Archives. You will need to contact the owning repository for access.
For archival collections, you should consult the online finding aid linked in the catalog record for a collection to determine the Box and Folder Numbers you wish to request.
Our general book collection is available to browse onsite and does not require an item request form in advance, however if you have questions about any of the books in our collection or would like us to pull them before your visit please email us at nbl@aip.org. Book Call Numbers give the location in our book stacks according to our custom library classification scheme (for more on this see our Library Call Number page in the Collections part of this guide).
For items in our Digital Collections (such as the Emilio Segrè Visual Archives), you do not need to use the Item Request Form as they are available online. For any questions regarding the use of these items, please email us at nbl@aip.org or through the form below.