Black and African American Physicists Research Guide: Resources on Individuals

Adkins, Rutherford Hamlet 
Alexander, Stephon
Basri, Gibor
Bouchet, Edward Alexander
Bragg, Robert Henry Jr.
Branson, Herman
Buck, Warren
Carruthers, George
Delfyett, Peter
Eagleson, Halson Vashon
Edwards, Donald Anderson
Epps, Thomas III
Gates, Sylvester James Jr.
Gonzalez, Anjelica
Hammond, Paula
Hammonds, Evelyn
Henry, Warren E.
Hunter, John McNeile
Imes, Elmer
Jackson, Shirley Ann
Johnson, Anthony
Johnson, Clifford Victor
Johnson, Joseph Andrew III
Jones, Sean
Lawson, James Raymond
Mason, Nadya
Massey, Walter
McGuire, Stephen
McNair, Ron Erwin
McNeese, Marta Dark
Melvind, Leland
Mickens, Ronald E
Milligan, Dolphus
Moore, Willie Hobbs
Morrison, Harold Lee
Mtingwa, Sekazi
Neal, Homer Alfred Jr.
Oluseyi, Hakeem Muata
Peery, Benjamin
Phillips, Philip
Porter, Tyrone
Prescod-Weinstein, Chanda
Prosper, Harrison
Quick, Lynnae
Ramirez, Ainissa
Randolph, Lynwood 
Rockward, Willie
Slaughter, Milton
Spight, Carl
Stith, James
Stovall, Tannie 
Tanner, Kandice
Taylor, Julius H. 
Thaxton, Hubert Mack
Venable, Demetrius
Walker, Arthur Bertram Cuthbert
Washington, Warren
West, James
Williams, Quinton

Known for: physics teaching and university administration, member of Tuskegee Airmen during World War II

• Physics Today obituary

Known for: quantum physics research, physics professor at Brown University, president of National Society of Black Physicists

• Oral history interview with Stephon Alexander, 2021 June 7. Held at the American Institute of Physics

Known for: astrophysicist, research on brown dwarfs, physics professor at the University of California at Berkeley

• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: first African-American to earn a PhD from any American University in any subject, physics teaching and administration

• “Edward Bouchet: The first African American to obtain a physics PhD earned it in just two years at Yale.” 15 September 2017. Physics Today. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.6.6.20170915a 
• Mickens, Ronald E., ed. 2002. Edward Bouchet : the first African-American doctorate. New Jersey: World Scientific. Catalog link.

Known for: material science research, work at Lockheed Martin, teaching at University of California at Berkeley, Fulbright Fellowship

• Oral history with Robert H. Bragg, Conducted by Nadine Wilmot, 2002. held at the The Bancroft Library of University of California, Berkeley 
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: biophysicist and university president who co-discovered the alpha-helix protein structure

• “The Negro in physics—An interview with Herman Branson.” 1 September 1966. Physics Today. 19 (9): 70–73. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.3048474
• “Herman Branson: The biophysicist codiscovered a key protein structure and served as president of two universities.” Physics Today. 14 August 2017. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.6.6.20170814a 
• American Crystallographic Association biography 
• Herman R. Branson papers, 1952-1970.
  • Archival collection located at Central State University. Materials include Bannson's writings and lecture notes (1952-1970; vitae; photographs and news clipping pertaining to him (1969-1970); correspondence (1969-1970); programs and other materials pertaining to his engagement (1969-1970; and Administrative Council assignments, proposals, African Studies Program information, and other institutional related materials (1969-1970).
• Lincoln University Office of the President records of Herman R. Branson, 1970-1986.
  • Located at Lincoln University, Special Collections and Archives. 1570 Baltimore Pike, Lincoln University, PA 19352, USA. Archival collection consists of addresses and programs relating to Branson's inauguration as president of Lincoln University; programs, letters of congratulations, and photographs relating to his retirement; correspondence, proposals, and reports relating to the Pennsylvania desegregation plan for higher education. Also includes correspondence and other materials relating to Lincoln University's efforts to be awarded land-grant status; faculty retrenchment; appropriations requests; commencement; Branson's addresses to various groups.

Known for: research on nuclear and subatomic particles, physics teaching and administration, creation of physics PhD program at Hampton University, creation of Hampton University Graduate Studies summer school for nuclear physics

• Oral history interview with Warren W. Buck, 2021 March 2. Held at the American Institute of Physics 
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: inventor, physicist, and engineer, work on NASA’s ultraviolet camera/spectrograph, used during the 1972 Apollo 16 mission

• Oral history interview with George Carruthers, 1992 August 18. Held at the American Institute of Physics.
• Oral history interview with Gerald Carruthers, 2020 August 3. Held at the American Institute of Physics. Oral history with brother Gerald (about George) 
• Accession 03-079, National Air and Space Museum. Space History Division, Project Files, 1992-1998
  • This accession consists of materials created and maintained by David H. DeVorkin, Senior Curator, documenting the video "Pathways to the Skies" produced by the National Air and Space Museum for Project SMART. Project SMART was led by George R. Carruthers, Physicist, to encourage minority youths to become interested in science, math, and technology. Carruthers believed that doing experiments and watching demonstrations was the best way to learn about science. "Pathways to the Skies" was produced by the National Air and Space Museum and distributed by Project SMART to encourage interest in the minority experience in aviation and spaceflight. Materials include correspondence, memoranda, scripts, notes, images, and background materials. Also included is a cassette tape copy of an oral history interview of Carruthers.

Known for: physics research, work on semiconductor laser technology, physics teaching

• Oral history interview with Peter Delfyett, 2020 June 24. Held at the American Institute of Physics.
• HistoryMakers biography 

Known for: experimental physicist, physics teaching and administration

• Oral history interview with Halson Vashon Eagleson held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections. Black Oral History Collection

Known for: physics teaching and administration, research in x-ray diffraction crystallography

• Oral History interview with Donald Anderson Edwards held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections. Black Oral History Collection

Known for: Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware,  research in many fields including biotechnology

• Oral history interview with Thomas H. Epps, III, 2020 July, 28. Held at the American Institute of Physics 

Known for: theoretical physicist, Professor of Physics and Director of the Theoretical Physics Center at Brown University. Often goes by Jim Gates.

• Oral history interview with Sylvester James Gates, Jr., 2020 July 30 and August 3. Held at the American Institute of Physics.
• Science For All: Jim Gates Honored with 2021 Andrew Gemant Award AIP Press Release

Known for: research in biomimetic development, physics teaching

• Oral history interview with Anjelica Gonzalez, 2020 October 21. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: Institute Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, member of National Academy of Inventors

• Oral history interview with Paula Hammond, 2020 December 16. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: theoretical physicist, professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara

• HistoryMakers biography 

Known for: historian of science, Professor of the History of Science and Professor of African and African American Studies at Harvard, Dean of Harvard College, studied physics at MIT

• AIP Interview

Known for: research on the paramagnetic properties of materials and the superconductivity of rare earth metals at low temperature

• Hattie Carwell, William A. Lester. 1 August 2002. “Warren Elliot Henry.” Physics Today; 55 (8): 68–69. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.1510294 
• Oral history interview with Warren E. Henry held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections. Black Oral History Collection

Known for: physicist and chemist, third African-American to receive PhD in physics in the United States, professor of physics at the Virginia State University

• Oral history interview with John McNeile Hunter held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections. Black Oral History Collection

Known for: experimental physicist, research in infrared spectroscopy, second African-American to earn a Ph.D. in physics in the United States 

• Mickens, Ronald E. 1 October 2018. “The life and work of Elmer Samuel Imes.” Physics Today. 71 (10): 28–35. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.3.4042 
• Elmer S. Imes papers, 1902-1942. Held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections

Known for: particle physicist, president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, work at Bell Labs, chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, one of the first two Black American women to receive a doctorate in physics in the U.S., first African American woman to earn a doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

• Oral history interview with Shirley Ann Jackson, 2020 July 17 and 22. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
• HistoryMakers biography 
• Shirley Ann Jackson speech [sound recording], 1985 August 9. Held at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Institute Archives and Special Collections

Known for: Ultrafast optics and optoelectronics

• HistoryMakers biography 

Known for: plasma physics research, development of physics research and education in Africa and among African Americans

• Mtingwa, Sekazi K., Ronald E. Mickens, and Jami M. Valentine. 28 July 2017. “Joseph Andrew Johnson III: The award-winning scientist had a tremendous impact on plasma physics and the development of physics research and education in Africa and among African Americans.” Physics Today. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.6.4o.20170728a 

Known for: deputy laboratory director for science & technology at the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory, research and development

• Oral history interview with Sean Jones, 2020 October 23. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: experimental infrared spectroscopist, university president 

• Mickens, Ronald E. 1 October 1997. “James Raymond Lawson.” Physics Today. 50 (10): 128. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.881945

Known for: condensed matter experimental physicist, dean of the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering at The University of Chicago

• Oral history interview with Nadya Mason, 2020 August 7. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 

Known for: theoretical physicist, physics teaching and administration, president of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, President's Council of Advisors, Science and Technology

• Oral history interview with Walter Massey, 2020 July 28. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: nuclear physicist and physics professor

• Oral history interview with Stephen McGuire, 2020 July 3. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: NASA astronaut, physicist, died in the Space Shuttle Challenger explosion

• McNair, Carl S. with H. Michael Brewer. 2005. In the Spirit of Ronald E. McNair. Atlanta, GA : Publishing Associates.

Known for: research on laser interactions with biological tissues, physics professor at Spelman College

• Oral history interview with Marta Dark McNeese, 2020 March 3. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: NASA astronaut and administrator

• Melvin, Leland. 2017. Chasing Space: An Astronaut’s Story of Chasing Grit, Grace, and Second Chances. New York, NY : Amistad. Catalog link.

Known for: physics professor, science historian specializing in African-American physicists

• HistoryMakers biography 
• Oral history interview with Ronald E. Mickens held at Fisk University Library & Special Collections. Black Oral History Collection
• Oral history interview with Ronald E. Mickens, 2020 August 5-7, 10, 11 & 13. Held at the American Institute of Physics
• Initial Conditions: A Physics History Podcast, Episode 8: An Interview with Dr. Ronald Mickens

Known for: chief of the photochemistry section of the National Bureau of Standards

• Scheer, Milton D. 1 February 1974. “Dolphus E. Milligan.” Physics Today. 27 (2): 89–91. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.3128477 
• Physics Today obituary of colleague Marilyn Esther Jacox which discusses Milligan:
  • Thompson, Warren E.  Lester S. Andrews, Karl K. Irikura. 1 May 2014. “Marilyn Esther Jacox.” Physics Today. 67 (5): 65. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.3.2391

Known for: engineer and physicist, first African-American woman to earn a PhD in physics

• Center for History of Physics at AIP Handout

Known for: professor of physics at the University of California, Berkeley, research on statistical mechanics and the many-body problem

• Jackson, Keith H. 1 August 2002. “Harry Lee Morrison.” Physics Today. 55 (8): 69–70. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.1510296

Known for: theoretical high-energy physicist, co-founded the National Society of Black Physicists

• Oral history interview with Sekazi Mtingwa, 2020 March 27. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 

Known for: high-energy physicist, university administrator, science education policy leader, 2016 American Physical Society president

• Chupp, Timothy, James Duderstadt, Harold Ogren. 1 November 2018. “Homer Alfred Neal Jr.” Physics Today. 71 (11): 61. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.3.4076

Known for: astrophysics, science communicator

• Oluseyi, Hakeem and Joshua Horwitz. 2021. A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Streets to the Stars. New York : Ballantine Books. Catalog link.

Known for: astronomer, physics teaching

• Oral history interview with Benjamin Peery, 1977 November 5. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: theoretical condensed matter physicist,  professor of physics at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

• Oral history interview with Philip Phillips, 2021 April 8. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: acoustics research, Professor of Biomedical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin

• Oral history interview with Tyrone Porter, 2020 September 22 and 29. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
  • Session I
  • Session II

Known for: theoretical physicist specializing in early universe cosmology, Black feminist theorist focused on science and technology

• Oral history interview with Chanda Prescod-Weinstein, 2020 November 10. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: high energy experimental physicist

• Oral history interview with Harrison Prosper, 2020 October 9. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 

Known for: Planetary Scientist at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

• Oral history interview with Lynnae Quick, 2021 January 14 & 28. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
  • Session I 
  • Session II

Known for: materials scientist, science communicator

• AIP Interview
• Interview for the Center for History of Physics Newsletter

Known for: physicist, space program administrator at NASA

• Oral history interview with Lynwood Randolph, 2020 September 9. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: physics teaching and administration, president of National Society of Black Physicists/

• Feder, Toni. 31 January 2020. “Q&A: Willie Rockward, physicist, athlete, minister, mentor.” Physics Today. https://doi.org/10.1063/PT.6.4.20200131a 

Known for: theoretical and phenomenological physicist, affiliate professor of physics at Florida International University

• Oral history interview with Milton Slaughter, 2020 August 6. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 

Known for: physicist, academic administrator, and physics professor

• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: physicist and educator, leadership roles in scientific societies: American Institute of Physics, American Association of Physics Teachers, National Society of Black Physicists

• Oral history interview with James Stith, 2009 August 14. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: physics professor, writings about African-American physics community

• Stovall, Tannie. 1 December 1966. “Negro physicists—a reply to Branson.” Physics Today. 19 (12): 11. https://doi.org/10.1063/1.3047846 
• Black Paris Profiles by Monique Wells interview excerpt

Known for: biophysicist, Senior Investigator at the National Cancer Institute

• Oral history interview with Kandice Tanner, 2020 March 18. Held at the American Institute of Physics.

Known for: physics professor, helped establish physics program at Morgan State University

• Julius H. Taylor papers, 1939-2006. Archival resource: The personal and professional papers of professor Julius H. Taylor include lecture notes and biographical material, photographs, and certificates and awards received for service in education and leadership. Held at Morgan State University Morris A. Soper Library and Information Technology Center.

Known for: nuclear physicist, physics teaching, fourth African American person to earn a PhD in physics in the United States

• H. Mack Thaxton papers, 1961-1963 held at New York Public Library. Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division.

Known for: optical physics, physics teaching, establishing and developing physics programs at multiple historically Black universities

• Oral history interview with Demetrius Venable, 2021 May 12. Held at the American Institute of Physics. 
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: solar physicist, EUV/XUV optics, inventor

• A.B.C. Walker Papers held at Stanford University, Department of Special Collections and University Archives.

Known for: atmospheric scientist, chair of the National Science Board, and scholar at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)

• Oral history interview with Warren M. Washington, 1998 October 28 and 29. Held at the American Institute of Physics.  
• Warren Washington papers, circa 1963-1980 held at National Center for Atmospheric Research/University Corporation for Atmospheric Research Archives.
• NCAR/UCAR Oral History Project records, 1968-2009 (bulk 1985-1991) held at National Center for Atmospheric Research/University Corporation for Atmospheric Research Archives. Collection of interviews with those involved in the early years and the development of the National Center for Atmospheric Research. Includes interview with Warren Washington.

Known for: inventor, acoustician,  design of microphones

• AIP Interview
• HistoryMakers biography

Known for: Professor and Chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Howard University, nanomaterials research, President of the National Society of Black Physicists

• Oral history interview with Quinton Williams, 2020 March 9. Held at the American Institute of Physics.